[Suggestion] be able to "plot" a route

This is one thing I would really, really like the devs to explain their thoughts about - surely it's not SUPPOSED to work this way? But we brought this issue up in Beta 1 as well and it appears to have fallen on deaf ears.

I think the difficulty comes in the fact that the carriers are persistent and there is a hard cap to how many bodies can be in a system. So the problem becomes how to ensure that there will be enough slots available in each system on the route not only at the time of scheduling but also the entire time the plotted jump route is playing out since that could literally take days.

This is not insurmountable, they would just need to implement a system of system slot reservations and, perhaps, variable jump scheduling. I say "just"...as a software architect I should know better. The point is that it is not as straight forward as it would seem.

Edit: another issue that just occurred to me is the matter of fuel consumption and supply being somewhat unpredictable when your carrier's mass can change when people buy or sell at your carrier. So you may plot a route and have the necessary fuel when you start but if someone sells you a couple of thousand units of whatever, your mass could increase above what your fuel supply can bear. Again, solvable but each solvable problem adds to the complexity.

Last edited:
I agree, I think it would be nice to be able to plot to the limit of our tanks. I can see the arguement against it though, There might be fears of it becoming a "fast travel/auto pilot" method, especially if you throw the possibility of using stored Tritium from the cargo. I'd say a fair compromise would be plotting by the tanks worth, then a manual refuel from the hold.

Sounds to me like people don't actually want route plotting at all.